If you want to just look at post, you do NOT need an account.
But, if you want to post comments you need to open an account. Please:
Click Here to apply for an account.

Compass

General Topics about Hiking in the Catskill Mountains that are not trail related
CANOEBLAZER

Compass

Unread post by CANOEBLAZER »

I would like to buy a decent orienteering compass. I'm new at this.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks
dundee

Re: Compass

Unread post by dundee »

I like the Ranger model by Silva, althought there are other good brands out there. With the Ranger you flip the mirror up, set your azimuth, look into the gunsight notch on top of the mirror and off you go. I haven't been lost yet.
dundee

Unread post by dundee »

CANOEBLAZER

Thanks a lot. I'll check it out.
mike

Unread post by mike »

Personally, I would invest in a GPS. But, learning how to use a compass is useful. I have been using a GPS exclusively since 2008.
dundee

Unread post by dundee »

The best thing about a compass is that the batteries never go bad.
CANOEBLAZER

Thanks for all your input. Going camping/hiking in the Catskills next month for a week. I'll buy one before then.
Jon

Unread post by Jon »

dundee wrote:The best thing about a compass is that the batteries never go bad.
I'm split on this decision. I kind of agree with Mike. Since I've gotten my GPS I only whip out my compass when I need a scale bar for photographs. I use a Brunton model which they don't make anymore, it is very similar to the Silva model people are suggesting here.